Teaching

This page is for links to any teaching resources for people teaching about the Caribbean, in primary, secondary or tertiary education.  If you use or know of useful resources that could be added here, please send the link to Pat Noxolo: p.e.p.noxolo@bham.ac.uk

1. Museum Geographies (contains arts-based resources from Africa and the Caribbean)  http://museumgeographies.wordpress.com/

2. Oxfam resource about the trade in bananas – http://www.oxfam.org.uk/education/resources/go-bananas

3. Resources for primary teachers, on Saint Lucia – http://www.primarytreasurechest.com/topics/locations/saint-lucia.html

4. Lesson plan on Geography of the Caribbean – http://www.discoveryeducation.com/teachers/free-lesson-plans/geography-of-the-caribbean.cfm#mat

5. Education pack on the Windrush Foundation ‘Making Freedom’ exhibition – http://makingfreedom.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/e1838_Introduction-Education-Pack-Guidance-Notes_17pgs.pdf

6. A Caribbean History – Hillsborough: a Plantation in Dominica – http://papillotepress.co.uk/2013/07/a-caribbean-history-hillsborough-a-plantation-in-dominica/

7. Geography Compass teaching and learning guide – Caroline Bressey: Remapping the Black Presence in Britain http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/j.1749-8198.2009.00303.x/abstract

8. Teaching resources from Alexander Street in the field of Caribbean Studies:

Caribbean Literature http://alexanderstreet.com/products/caribbean-literature
Caribbean Studies in Video: The Banyan Archive http://alexanderstreet.com/products/caribbean-studies-video-banyan-archive

MediaPlus, a service delivered to the UK higher and further education community in association with Jisc, contains a selection of resources on the Caribbean via http://search.alexanderstreet.com/mpls.